Only One Rooster in the All-Star Game of Baseball

Cuban News Agency

Daviel Gómez will be the only athlete of Sancti Spiritus to play in the All-Star Game of baseball to take place next October 29th, in the Cuban city of Matanzas

escambray today, cuban baseball, all-star baseball game, sancti spiritus, rooters baseball team
Young Daviel Gómez will be playing with the west team. (Photo: Vicente Brito / Escambray)

The National Baseball Directorate announced the lists of the West and East teams for the All-Star Game of the Cuban championship in its 56th edition, to be held in the city of Matanzas on October 28 and 29.

In a press conference at Adolfo Luque Hall in Havana’s Latinoamericano Stadium, it was reported that the West squad will be coached by Victor Mesa, manager of the Matanzas Crocodiles, while Roger Machado (Ciego de Avila) will be the head coach of
the East side.

The usual veterans match, agreed to five innings between two squads coached by Rigoberto Rosique (West) and Agustin Lescaille (East) and made up by illustrious players of the national pastime in past decades, will take place on the 28th.

That first day will also include the skills tests and the first phase of the homerun derby with the participation of eight of the top leaders in that department in the current campaign, who seek to be included among the three players qualified to the final on October 29th, preamble to the All-Star Game.

As an important side event prior to the traditional sports show, the selection of reinforcements of the six teams qualified for the second round of the Cuban baseball classic will be on October 27.

Below the West and East teams to the Cuban Baseball All-Star Game:

Catchers: Ariel Martínez (MTZ), Jordanys Acebal (IJV), Frank C. Morejón (IND)

Infielderes: William Saavedra (PRI), Yasiel Santoya (MTZ), Dainier Gálvez (IJV), Aníbal Medina (MTZ), Jefferson Delgado (MTZ), Yariel Duque (ART), Yorbert Sánchez (IND), Michael González (MAY)

Outfielders: Ariel Sánchez (MTZ), Leonardo G. Urgellés (IJV), Dennis Laza (MAY), Daviel Gómez (SSP), Víctor V. Mesa (MTZ), Yusniel Ibáñez (CFG)

DH: Yordanis Samón (MTZ)

Pitchers: Yoanny Yera (MTZ), Jonder Martínez (MTZ), Miguel Lahera (ART), Adrián R. Sosa (MTZ), Erlis Casanova (PRI), Luis M. Castro (MAY), Liván Moinelo (PRI), José A. García (ART), Danny Aguilera (IJV), Yoandry Ruiz (MTZ)

Manager: Víctor Mesa (MTZ)

Catchers: Yulexis La Rosa (VCL), Osvaldo Vázquez (CAV), Rafael Viñales (LTU)

Infielders: Leonel Segura (CAM), Norel González (VCL),
Carlos Benítez (GRA), Humberto Bravo (CAM), Osvaldo Abreu (GRA), Yeniet Pérez (VCL), Alexander Ayala (CAM), Yorbis Borroto (CAV)

Outfielders: Luis Robert (CAV), Raúl Reyes (VCL), Edilse
Silva (SCU), Jorge A. Johnson (LTU), Geydi Soler (HOL), Julio P. Martínez (GTM)

DH: Héctor Hernández (CAM)

Pitchers: Vladimir García (CAV), Meracles R. Oris (HOL),
Freddy A. Álvarez (VCL), Lázaro Blanco (GRA), Yoalkis Cruz (LTU), Carlos  A. Santiesteban (HOL), Dayron A. Riera (GTM), Liomil González (CAV), Luis E. Castillo (GTM), Yunier Suárez (HOL)

Manager: Roger Machado (CAV)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *